Transition Links for Parents

Community Integration Program 1B (CIP 1B)

The Community Integration Program 1B provides funding for children and adults who relocate from, or are at risk of and qualify for entering an Intermediate Care Facility for persons with Mental Retardation (ICF/MR).

Eligibility: To qualify for CIP 1B, you must be eligible for Medicaid and have care needs similar to people living at a DD Center or an ICF/MR. There are also income limits and for some individuals, cost sharing may apply.

Services covered by CIP1B include:

  • Case Management
  • Respite Care
  • Supportive Home Care
  • Transportation
  • Adult Day Care
  • Supported Employment
  • Consumer Directed Services
  • Adaptive Aids
  • Daily Living Skills Training
  • Home Modifications
  • Counseling and Therapeutic Resources
  • Substitute Care

Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR)

DVR provides services to empower individuals to maximize employability, economic self-sufficiency, independence and integration into the work place and the community through comprehensive and coordinated state-of-the-art programs.

Eligibility: To receive services, an individual must have a mental, physical or learning disability that interferes with the ability to work.

For more information, visit


Guardianship is a legal mechanism which enables one person, called a guardian, to make legally recognized and enforceable decisions for another person called the ward. A person with a severe mental disability may be incapable of making some decisions; for instance, about whether to have an operation or how to spend money. A guardian is a person appointed through court procedures to make decisions like these on behalf of someone who is unable to make such decisions independently.

Eligibility: In Wisconsin, an adult must be found by a court to be incompetent before a guardian can be appointed. Someone is incompetent if a court finds that s/he is substantially incapable of managing his/her property or caring for him/herself because of mental impairment caused by the aging process, or because of a developmental disability, or because of conditions, like mental illness or alcoholism, having similar effects.

Katie Beckett Program

Some children with long-term disabilities who live at home cannot qualify for Medicaid, because their parent(s) income exceeds the eligibility guidelines. Under the Katie Beckett Program, these children are considered based on their care need rather than on their family's income and assets.

Eligibility: A child must meet all of the following criteria:

1. Be less than 19 years of age and living at home.

2. Qualify as disabled by standards in the Social Security Act

3. Require a level of care at home that is typically provided in a hospital or nursing facility.

4. Require care that can be provided safely and appropriately in the family home.

5. Have income and assets within Medicaid program guidelines.

6. Trust funds, if any, must meet necessary legal criteria.

7. Have home care costs that do not exceed what Wisconsin Medicaid would pay if the child were in an institution.

To apply, contact Katie Beckett eligibility specialists in DHS-Bureau of Children’s Services at (888) 786-3246.


Medicaid, also known as Medical Assistance, MA, Title XIX, T-19 and the Wisconsin Medical Assistance Program (WMAP), is a comprehensive health care insurance program available to certian low-income persons with limited assets.

SSI-Medicaid Hotline (800) 888-7989

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

SSI pays benefits to people with disabilities whose income and resources are below set limits. Sometimes, resources and income of parents and spouses are counted. The person or family does not have to have a work history. Eligibility for SSI will make a person eligible for Medicaid.