Dr. Dan Westfahl Named Wisconsin's Elementary Principal of the Year

Dr. Dan Westfahl, Principal at Brookfield Elementary School was named Wisconsin's Elementary Principal of the Year on Thursday, April 6, by the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators (AWSA).

Representatives from AWSA joined Elmbrook's senior leadership team in a surprise reveal to Dr. Westfahl in the Brookfield Elementary library, accompanied by his family, teachers, students, and school leaders.

Dan was nominated for the Kohl Leadership Award by Brookfield Elementary parent Amy Dvornik for his incredible work with students, families and staff. From the ranks of Kohl award winners, one person is selected as elementary Principal of the Year and another is selected as secondary Principal of the Year.

Superintendent Mark Hansen said, "Congratulations to Dr. Westfahl on receiving this well-deserved recognition. Dan's student-centered approach to leadership has a profound impact on students and staff each and every day!"

Click here to view the video of Dr. Westfahl as he receives his award and click through the picture slideshow below of the event.

Additional information may be found on the Department of Public Instruction News Room website at https://dpi.wi.gov/news/releases/2017/two-2017-principals-year-honored. Additional information about the Principal of the Year program can be found on the AWSA website.