Skip To Main Content
Elmbrook Schools Logo
Three Elmbrook Students Named Presidential Scholar Semifinalists

Brookfield Central High School students, Liam Flatley and Emily Liu, and Brookfield East student Sanju Reddy Peddagorla, have been selected as three of the ten 2020 Presidential Scholars semifinalists in Wisconsin. These ten Wisconsin students are among 620 semifinalists named for the 2020 year. Having honored thousands of high school seniors since its inception in 1964, the award is considered the nation's highest honor for graduating high school seniors- recognizing hard work in academics, leadership, and student contributions to their schools and communities. 

Liam, Emily and Sanju were selected from an initial 3.4 million graduating high school senior entries, which was narrowed down to a group of over 5,600 candidates. The Commission on Presidential Scholars names a final total of 161 academic Presidential Scholars, which includes a male and female from each state and additional scholars from U.S. districts and territories. The Commission also chooses up to 20 Presidential Scholars in the Arts and 20 Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education.

We congratulate Liam, Emily and Sanju for being named semifinalists and wish them the best of luck as they enter the final round determining Presidential Scholars!

For more information on the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program please visit

(Pictured L to R: Liam Flatley, Emily Liu, Sanju Reddy Peddagoria)

L to R: Liam, Emily, Sanju